The Retirement Decision

It’s been just under two months since I pulled the proverbial trigger and set the retirement wheels in motion. Two months of people offering the most heartfelt congratulations I’ve ever received, and two months of people being in disbelief and/or denial. Quite the spectrum of reactions, frankly.

Finally I feel like it’s time to examine this a little, to try to process it more, and even to shed some light on things for the people in the back of the room who have not been paying close attention.

I am known for my exaggeration, embellishment, and enhancement of stories in order to ram home a lesson for my students, whether they be bandos, DMAers, or even adults. In this case there is none of that whatsoever.

  • May/June: “Hey Marion, let’s crunch numbers again and see where things stand for a target goal of 2026 or 2029. You know, the traditional age 62 or 65.”
    • Marion is my financial advisor for those wondering who this random person is.
  • mid-June: “Heidi, let’s set up some conference calls and see if we can make this even better for you.”
  • July: “Heidi, give me a few weeks to rerun all the numbers again.”
  • August 10: Email Subject line: “Retirement–how about going at 60!”

That email left me sitting and staring at the screen. 60?! That was in 5 months. How is that possible? No, she can’t possibly be confident about that…but of course she was. She is the most conservative financial person in the world–if you can’t do something she makes it known quite clearly that it is not in your financial interests to do so. QUITE CLEAR.

We chatted on the phone about all the details and I said there was no way I could depart this coming January but would look towards next August or even January 2025. I said I would give it the weekend because I wanted to be able to tell the band at the start of camp if this was going to be my final season.

16 hours later…

Linens….that’s all it took. Linens (IYKYK). This is a story for another time. Suffice it to say sometimes all it takes is the smallest moment to make one say “time to turn the page, start a new chapter, and put a giant bow on the current situation.”

I did not make the decision to retire in June, nor in July. My decision was not made 3 years ago either. I made the decision to retire on August 11, 2023 with my final day at the University of Delaware to be August 31, 2024. If you choose not to believe that, well, that’s on you. So if you fall into that category please stop saying that I’m lying or thinking that you know me better than any other people on the face of the earth and that you knew I was retiring. I didn’t know I was retiring!

Here’s what the handy dandy AI Assistant has to say about “The Third Act” —

The Third Act refers to the final phase or stage of a narrative, play, or life itself. It is often associated with resolution, culmination, and the climax of a story. In a theatrical context, it signifies the turning point where conflicts are resolved, loose ends are tied up, and the story reaches its conclusion.

Just as in a play, life can be seen as having three acts. The First Act represents the beginning, where we are introduced to the characters, their goals, and the conflicts they face. The Second Act is the middle portion, filled with obstacles, challenges, and character development. Finally, The Third Act is the culmination, where the threads of the story come together and the narrative reaches its climax.

In life, The Third Act can be a time of reflection, fulfillment, and embracing the wisdom gained throughout the journey. It is a stage where priorities often shift, and the focus may shift towards legacy, relationships, and enjoying the fruits of one’s labor. The Third Act reminds us that life is an ever-evolving play, and we have the power to shape our own narrative until the very end.

Whether in a story or in our own lives, The Third Act signifies the final chapter, the closing scene, and the ultimate resolution. It is a reminder that no matter the challenges faced, there is always the opportunity for growth, redemption, and a meaningful conclusion.

Well that’s pretty final–yikes! Yet at the same time it is accurate. 36 years as a band director is most certainly a full Second Act. It has been filled with lots of obstacles, challenges, and definite character development–and thank God for the last item! I am not remotely like the person I was 36 years ago…heck even 5 years ago, and that is a very good thing indeed.

So again, what’s next?

Truthfully, I have no idea. LOL. There is a part of me that wishes to stay involved in the world of teaching and writing. Maybe I will write for a school or two, do some guest conducting, and some band clinics. You know, add some side hustle retirement income into the bank! I don’t think I can go cold turkey without the world of pagaentry in my life, but my track record has been that when I stop doing something I completely stop. So time will tell. Traveling, both domestic and international, has always been on my list, and my passport was just renewed.

Perhaps the most important goal is a health and fitness focus. It has not been an easy journey. The last 16 months alone have tested my resolve more than any other phase of my life. I’m slower, stiffer, metabolism is in the toilet. I’ve already made some significant changes to my diet and am slowly returning to an active lifestyle (a story for another time). With any luck I can right the ship and live life as an active senior. (Oof…where did the time go?!?!)

One small thing: No, I will not become a basset hound breeder–just stop it please!

That’s it for now folks. Sure I’ve concluded my final band camp, last first home game, and last Allentown. Maybe I will reflect upon the season as a whole when it is over…maybe I’ll wait for a year in review. Time will tell. At any rate I’ll leave you with this for the moment: It’s already one helluva rollercoaster ride with my hands flying high over my head and me screaming and laughing like a little girl.

Comments are closed.

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑