Erev Final Homecoming

The eve before my final homecoming is…odd. Neither exciting nor sad. Just…odd.

I spent the week dealing with every conceivable obstacle the universe could throw at me. To be honest, I don’t believe she’s finished yet either. A weather front is arriving tomorrow morning just in time for rehearsal and will move through…Sunday. 12 hours of rain predicted. Oh, and not 50% chance but 90% chance of precipitation. …awesome….

I am not surprised. Why? Because it ALWAYS rains on homecoming at UD. It’s a …TRADITION! Lmao.

The sad part is that over 325 UDMB alumni have signed up for Alumni Band—a record! Most are still coming and frankly we will have a blast making new and lasting memories. And yet…just odd.

Perhaps it is because of all the “fires” that needed to be put out this week. Perhaps it is because I haven’t had a moment to sit and reflect until now. Perhaps it is denial. Perhaps it is “let’s get on with it already.” Perhaps it is still so routine that the concept of it all ending just hasn’t hit home yet. So it’s just…odd.

  • We have a schedule tomorrow…won’t follow it.
  • We have 38+ colorguard.
  • We have music for the front ensemble alumni for the first time ever.
  • The “baby band” knows the grid setup.
  • The truck is loaded with every last spare instrument we own plus a second full battery.
  • AND IT IS GOING TO BE A COLD MONSOON GOD DAMMIT!

Ok, I needed to get that out of my system. phew! That feels much better.

I guess I’m disappointed that it is not going to be a picture perfect homecoming. At the same time I suppose if it was I would also be disappointed.

Starred Thought: you’re at your best when things are at their worst. Well George Parks, I suppose you’re in the ether somewhere right now and getting me to focus on what’s most important, aren’t you?

Tomorrow will be what it will be. There is no way to control the weather and acceptance has begun. The current band will talk about tomorrow forever as being the most insane band day of their lives. Just as other band alumni have done when faced with such insanity. Pictures will be posted and stories will be shared. Laughter will be heard and yes, tears shall be shed.

Tomorrow marks my final Homecoming at UD. Four games will be done with only two left to go.

Odd is slowly turning into bittersweetness.

Comments are closed.

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑